September 22 Board meeting agenda

The agenda for the September 22 Board meeting is now published. You may review it here. The Board will meet at 4:30 PM Saturday at the University of Kentucky Gatton Student Center, room 330AB.


Posted in Uncategorized

Team KY honors at UK tournament

Congrats to the following Team KY students who won awards at the University of Kentucky’s Season Opener this past weekend!

Program Oral Interp
2nd Addie Ann Cundiff – LaRue
5th Sophia Li – Henry Clay

2nd Maddie Woodrum – Bowling Green

4th Stefani Giles – LaRue
5th Caili Harris – Henry Clay
6th Cassandra Wiley – LaRue

6th Sophia Li – Henry Clay

Dramatic Interp
2nd Kirsten Couly – Henry Clay
5th Emma Lauritzen – Henry Clay

Humorous Interp
6th Alyssa Payton – Henry Clay

Congress Supers
Chris Beebout – Henry Clay
Ethan Wallace – Henry Clay
Maggie Mitchell – DuPont Manual

JVPF Speaker Awards
3rd Tag Howard – Henry Clay
8th Jasir Rahman – Henry Clay

Junior Varsity PF Semis
Howard/Rahman – Henry Clay
Gottesman/Merritt – Henry Clay

Varsity PF Triples
Srivastava/Polepalli – DuPont Manual
Cao/Raj – DuPont Manual
Clark/Lofwall – Henry Clay

Varsity LD Speaker Award
7th Place Jennifer Xu – DuPont Manual

Varsity LD Quarters
Hassan Kashif – North Oldham

Varsity LD Semis
Jennifer Xu – DuPont Manual
Chandu Kona – North Oldham

Posted in Uncategorized

A tournament add, a tournament update, and two reminders

Click the link for a PDF of the 18-19 schedule.


This schedule was updated 9/7/18 to reflect the following changes:

  • Graves County High School tournament added January 12
  • Dixie Heights tournament now Speech only (no Congress or Debate)

Reminder to register for SPEAK (newbie coaches) on September 22 and to register for KHSSL if your school plans to compete in Regionals and State this year (or if your school just wants to be part of Kentucky Speech and Debate). Registration and fees due by October 1!!

Posted in Uncategorized

Wyatt tourney date set for November/December, reminders

The Wilson Wyatt Debate League has decided to hold no tournament on November 10 and to hold a tournament on December 1 (they had announced both as possibilities). The Kentucky tournament schedule is now updated on the website (version 7)!

Reminder to register for SPEAK (newbie coaches) on September 22, to submit KHSSL logos by September 1, and to register for KHSSL if your school plans to compete in Regionals and State this year (or if your school just wants to be part of Kentucky Speech and Debate).  Happy End of August, everyone!


Posted in Uncategorized

Bardstown date changed; Reminders


The Bardstown High School tournament scheduled for January 5 has been moved to January 26. The latest version of the Kentucky tournament schedule is posted here:


SPEAK 6 is happening September 22. This conference will be for new speech and debate teachers and coaches (tentatively called NewSPEAK) and will be taught by representatives of each of the five Kentucky speech and debate leagues. Registration fees for the day = only $20, and attendees will receive 6 hours of PD credit. Register at by September 17 if attending.

KHSSL Registration is LIVE. Your school may now register for the Kentucky High School Speech League for 2018-2019 at this link: .  Registration and fees MUST be paid and turned in by October 1 for initial pricing; late fees kick in after that date. Costs and the mailing address are on the online form at the link.

KHSSL announces a logo contest! The League needs a new logo. We are offering $100 as a prize with a deadline of September 1. Please spread the word to talented student artists as well as any adults you know who are strong graphic artists, etc. The logo should include the letters KHSSL somewhere in the logo, but other than that the possibilities are endless. Please note that a winning logo may not be chosen, but if one is adopted, it becomes the property of KHSSL after the $100 prize has been paid. Please send logos as attachments to no later than September 1.


Posted in Uncategorized

Ryle and KHSSL Bluegrass Regionals date changes announced

Click the link for a PDF of the 18-19 schedule.


This schedule was updated 8/20/18 to reflect the following changes:

  • Ryle HS tournament moved from October 20 to November 10; now a swing with Beechwood HS at Beechwood.
  • KHSSL Regional for Bluegrass Region — date changed from 2/2 to 2/9 (both divisions).
Posted in Uncategorized

Kentucky speech/debate tournament list updated

Click the link for a PDF of the 18-19 schedule.

KentuckyTournamentSchedule1819version4  (8/15/18)

This schedule was updated 8/15/18 to reflect the following changes:

  • Daviess County HS and Rowan County HS tournaments cancelled.
  • Beechwood HS tournament moved to 11/10.
  • Wyatt Debate League tournament dates added.
Posted in Uncategorized